A Pinterest Fail

Hello to anyone that happens to stumble across this post (or blog :-p ).  I wanted to post something for all of the non-chef bloggers out there to relate to:

Pinterest FAIL

Behold the ‘Pinterest Fail.’  It was such a work of perfection that I wanted my trashcan to have a little taste as well!!

Now I realize I do not have the Paula Deen/Rachael Ray thumb when it comes to whipping something together and having it turn into a delicious Thanksgiving feast.  I also will admit that in elementary school I received and ‘N’ for ‘Needs Improvement’ in the following directions category (we won’t go into detail about my grammar usage either 😉 ).  Those two facts right there will hint that I’m not the best chef of my block in suburbia.  I do tend to pride myself when it comes to making a sweet sugary fat kid snack–insert my idea for Coffee Brownies.

One would think that you can’t go wrong with a simple list of standard ingredients anyone would find in a lady’s pantry but boooooooy was I wrong!  I followed the directions to a ‘T’ and what sounded like a delicious dessert of flavorful roasted coffee, chocolate, and a hint of whiskey turned out to taste like the ash from a food scented Yankee Candle (or at least what I would imagine).  Who knows, maybe the Yankee Candle Ash tastes better!  Regardless, I have been reminded once again that I am no where near housewife status and luckily the fat kid in me was smart enough to sample the brownies before taking them into work for the office vultures (I mean that in the most loving ways) to feed upon.  If anyone decides to try this recipe and enjoys it, I’d love a report back of the type of coffee, whiskey, and unsweetened cocoa powder you used.  The brownies themselves came out super bland, and the icing was too runny and had too much of a whiskey burn.  Combining the both of them just turned into a sloppy mess.

On a lighter note, I’ve managed to get the art of roasting kale leaves and boiling brussel sprouts down.  Dinner tonight consisted of a piece of freezer burned frozen Tilapia I managed to pull from the corner depths of my freezer, pan cooked with a dash of old bay and cayenne pepper, boiled brussel sprouts, and roasted kale.  VOILA!

4.23.13 dinnerOh yeah, and of course, a dash of some delicious Tessemae’s Hot Sauce ❤ ❤

I almost skipped this gym tonight because I was having such a blissful post work nap buuuut I have pretty tight schedule for the remainder of the week and would rather save the spontaneous day off for later in the week.  Tonight was a straight lifting, no cardio nonsense workout on one of my least favorite bodyparts: THE BAAAAAAAAAAACK

Back It Up Work Out:
Warm-Up: 5 Minutes on the Elliptical

Dumb Bell (DB) Rows: 5 Sets- 15, 12, 10, 8, 6
Assisted Pull-Ups: 4 Sets – 12, 10, 8, 6
Bar Bell (BB) Row: 5 Sets – 12, 10, 8, 6
Wide Grip Lat Pull Down: 4 Sets – 12, 10, 8, 6
Reverse Grip Lat Pull Down: 4 Sets – 12, 10, 8 ,6
Close Grip Lat Pull Down: 4 Sets – 12, 10, 8, 6
Seated Row: 4 Sets – 15, 12, 10, 8
Straight Arm Cable Push Downs: 2 Sets – 20, 25

Abs:
(Super Set)
Hanging Leg Tucks – 12 reps
Right Side Plank – 30 seconds
Left Side Plank – 30 seconds
*repeat set 3x’s

(Super Set)
Back Extens0ions – 15
Weighted Side Dips Left – 10
Weighted Side Dips Right – 10
*repeat set 3x’s

Happy Tuesday!

f02cc801fc94979b9c72837cee9abac9

-Nar

So I’m Curious: What is your biggest Pinterest Fail?

Leave a Reply

