Life B****ing and Moaning…Sorry It Helps

Hi There,

So to re-cap on my workouts from last week, I did this Wednesday

Warm-Up : 1500m Row

2 Sets of 25 Reps:
-Box jumps
-KB Swings
-Walking Weighted Lunge
-Plank position knees to elbows
-Push Press
-Back Extensions
-Sit-Ups
-Burpees
-Jump rope (1minute)

Friday I did a 6 mile interval run- Each Mile: run 1/2 mile, sprint 1/4 mile, walk.05 of a mile, job .20.

I did this Saturday:

I did a workout from Bodybuilding.com.  Under the female transformations, I found Megan Ruane’s Leg Workout.  I was NOT feeling this workout at all. But I was happy I plugged through it and didn’t give up on myself.

Yesterday (Monday) was supposed to be a “long run” night for me –9 miles.  I had another crappy run last night.  Enough about that ish.

If anyone has caught a trend, my workouts ..especially my runs have been REALLY crappy lately.  I am definitely in some sort of ‘funk.’  Now it’s a matter of trying to put my finger on what exactly is causing the problem…. the not so fun part. I know there are at least 4 factors which I’m sure are not helping the cause of my “workout funk.”

1.) Work.  I’m not in a good place right now with my career life.  To spare you the intimate details, I feel like this on daily basis:

humph

humph

Picture source

As many people agree, when you start to feel like the above picture towards your job on a daily basis, it can be very detrimental to your mental and physical health.  I know it’s getting bad when the one thing I look forward to during the day (my workout) is starting to mentally become a chore and no longer a stress reliever when I  get off of work.

2.) Sleeping habits and patterns: Because of bullet #1, I have decided to go into the office as early as my job ‘allows ‘(7:30 instead of 8) so I can get out earlier.  This means I’m waking up a half hour earlier than normal (6:30 instead of 7am).  For someone who loves their sleep, this has been a rather trying adjustment for me. Unfortunately I need to be more strict about my bed time. As I still go to bed at the same time I was before I started heading in tad earlier for work.  Of course this only causes me to want to nap more often and longer throughout the day.

3.) Weather.  Maryland’s spring season this year SUCKS! We all know how crappy weather affects a fair weather runner 😉

4.) Diet change.  I have recently reduced a huge portion of grain/wheat/starch based carbohydrates out of my food ….some would say this is a “Paleo,” “Primal,” or “Caveman”  catered food plan if you want more information regarding this diet.  I have found that one of the benefits of eating this way is that it’s a huge relief on your gut and bloating.  Before eating this way, I followed a loose bodybuilding diet guideline.  This was a high protein and healthy carbs and veggies based diet.  I always assumed that the dairy and veggies I was consuming was the reasoning behind my bloating and gut discomfort throughout the day.  I never thought that the fibrous carbohydrates in the form of wheat and grain could be a factor.  My body -especially my gut, is definitely thanking me for having a more veggie, meat, and healthy fats -focused diet versus the bland bodybuilding diet.  Because of the reduced carbohydrate intake and reduced sugar intake, I question if this is taking a toll on my energy for my longer distance running.

       ****** DISCLAIMER: I AM NOT A CERTIFIED OR REGISTERED ANYTHING, THIS WORKS FOR ME AS AN INDIVIDUAL. ANY PROMOTIONS OR ACCOLADES I GIVE ARE BASED SOLEY ON MY OWN TRIAL AND ERROR, PLEASE CONSULT WITH YOUR PHYSICIAN OR PERSONAL HEALTH EXPERTS BEFORE TRYING ANYTHING I MENTION AS A SUCCESS ON MY BODY/LIFE.

 So those are some of my complaints about life right now 🙂 thanks for entertaining the thought of reading through all of that crap.

Before my sour-puss self leaves you all for the day, I would like to share this flavorful salad and dinner I made yesterday:

Lunch

Lunch

-Chopped Mint leaves
-Chopped Basil
-Chopped Cilantro
-Chopped Orange Bell Pepper
-Chopped Cucumber
-Chopped Radishes
-Bean Sprouts
-Leftover home made guac from my Saturday Night game night
Tessemae’s Zesty Ranch (can be found in Whole Foods) ….buy it. don’t question it, don’t sample it, just buy it. Any flavor. You won’t regret it. I promise.

Dinner -Roasted Kale -Ground Beef w/Mushrooms and Onions -Avocado -Egg -Tessemae's Hot Sauce

Dinner

Dinner:
-Roasted Kale
-Ground Turkey cooked with Mushrooms and Onions
-Sliced Avocado
-Fried Egg cooked in Coconut Oil.

Wow. I feel a little better already getting all of those inner thoughts out on the internet. 😛

Anyone else out there ina workout funk?  What do you do to try and get out of your funk?

-Nar

2 responses to “Life B****ing and Moaning…Sorry It Helps

  • Holly at Everyday's a 'Hollyday'

    YES. I totally go through workout funks. And I went through more when I was doing more lifting. Just because I would get bored with workouts. I wanted NEW stuff…not all of the stuff online. i LOVE bodybuilding.com, but I feel like a lot of their workouts are the same…but just changed up- ya know what I mean?
    I MISS lifting more, but I am running like crazy now…and I love it. I go through phases though, where I want to run ALL of the time, and then I want to lift ALL of the time. Right now I really have no choice, because I can’t take G to the gym…quite yet 😉
    I love some workouts that I get in my Muscle &Fitness women’s magazine- have you ever read it? I prefer it over Oxygen. I can send you some of them if you want.

    • narnar1086

      I agree with the BodyBuilding.com workouts, a lot of the women’s routines are 3 set of 8-12 reps for about 8 exercises. I have branched out to the *gasp* men’s workout routines on that site, MUCH MORE variety of reps/sets/exercises…not to mention challenging too. And yes, I’ll pick up a Muscle & Fitness Women’s Magazine every now again, I definitely enjoy their workouts as well. I wish I could get myself on a running streak since the weather is finally getting nice up here! Can you send some of that florida running cheer up my way? I’ll even let you keep baby G and the stroller even though they are absolutely precious 😉

Leave a Reply

