Success in the Kitchen!

I am happy to announce brag that while on my run last night I was thinking up ways to make a dinner where I could avoid having to go to the grocery store that evening out of sheer laziness.  I believe this is the first time in a LONG while that I have created a concoction and it turned out rather tasty!!  So here is the eye candy:

 

Coconut Crusted Eggplant, Roasted Kale, Steamed Broccoli, Avocado/Fresh Salsa Mix

Coconut Crusted Eggplant, Roasted Kale, Steamed Broccoli, Avocado/Fresh Salsa Mix

The ‘main dish’ portion of the dinner is coconut crusted eggplant!  I had a bag of chopped kale in my fridge, a head of broccoli, a 1/2 of an avocado, fresh salsa, and a whole eggplant.  Naturally I roasted my kale via the life saving directions/recipe from Julie GoLean.  I steamed the broccoli, mashed the avocado and mixed in some salsa annnnd for the main dish:

You will need: 1 eggplant, 1 egg, coconut flakes ( I had  Let’s Do…Organic Coconut Flakes-unsweetened), Salt, Garlic Powder, Italian Seasoning, and oil of choice (I had coconut oil).

Sadly I did not measure anything in exact amounts, but I used enough coconut flakes to coat both sides of the eggplant slices –i’d say 3/4 of a cup to 1 cup? About 1 teaspoon of salt, 1 teaspoon of garlic powder, and a light top dusting layer of italian seasoning.

Directions:

Pour oil in pan to lightly cover the entire bottom, stove should be set to ‘medium’ heat

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F

Beat the egg in a mixing bowl, set aside

In seperate bowl, combine coconut flakes, garlic powder, salt, and italian seasoning-mix ingredients

Slice eggplant into coins

Dip both sides of the eggplant coins in the bowl with the beaten egg

Drop egg-covered eggplant slice into coconut flake mixture so both sides have a solid coating

Drop the coconut-battered eggplant into the pan, cook until side is a nice light brown then flip on other side.

Once you have pan-fried all of your eggplant slices, Place the slices on a foil-lined baking sheet and toss in the oven for about 5 minutes to ‘crisp’ the slices even more

Annnnd then the best part of making this…sitting down to eat them!!

Most of your bloggers are probably reading this thinking, “That’s it?? This girl is excited over a glorified breaded piece of eggplant?”  Well … as I mentioned in my ‘about me’ section, most of my food creations are Pinterest Fails.  I was going into this idea last night thinking, hmm the idea sounds tasty, but i’m about 99.5% sure I will burn the sh** out of this idea. So I surprised myself!!

On another note, in workout-land I  did a long run last night-8 miles.  For the FIRST time in about a month, I finally did not feel like I was running at the speed of Jaba the Hut.

flubber-tastic

flubber-tastic

Pic Source

Part of this mentality might be due to the fact I decided I would time my run based off of the stop-watch portion of my phone instead of using that even RunKeeper App..we all know my thoughts on hearing my pace and average pace every 1/2 mile ;-).  So I decided to eat a banana with coconut butter to ‘fuel’ me before hand.  All was going well until I got to the turnaround point at mile 4…………..my stomach decided to ‘crap out’ on me…pun intended.  Needless to say the run back to my house was not half as enjoyable as the first portion. I can’t win…I guess it’s my body’s way of saying “stick with weightlifting fool!”  Does anyone else have uh ..gut discomfort when they do long distance runs?  What do you do?  Some nights I’m perfectly fine, other nights I want to DIE.

Oh yeah, while we’re on the subject of super fun running side effects, I’ll share this lovely image in your head: chaffing.  No, not from  the clapping of my thighs cheering me on during my runs .. but courtesy of a sports bra :(.  Last week I did my longer run, and this particular sports bra I have has a rather ‘rough’  band where the bra hits your rib cage area. Obviously this bra did not fit me properly because when I finished my run for the night and went to hop in the shower I noticed these gash-like chaffing spots; …. not on the upper ab/rib cage area where one would THINK the bra band would have irritated it ..but on the UNDER portion of my uhh .. let’s just call them ‘chesticles’ ;-).  I have NEVER had irritation there from running before. and IT. IS. NOT. FUN.  The irritation was so bad it looks like I scraped my skin on the sidewalk, its not just that brushburn/red area, it’s a legit raw patch.  So of course I think it’s a GREAT idea to put some neosporin on the area and plop a bandaid on over top during the work day.  Well the bandaid ended up taking off some skin on one of the areas….it’s been SUPER FUN!  😡   Again .. body is telling me I should just stick with weights I think haha.

Well that’s enough ranting and raving for this Tuesday! Hope everyone has a great week!

-Nar

Leave a Reply

